Grounded, and none too pleased about it.

It’s been 5 days since my big ‘ol 5K run, and I’ve been grounded ever since.

My right side hurts from the glutes and hip right down through my knee and into the calf.

My theory is that I had injured my right leg during the 35 minute run I did a week before my race, then didn’t have time to let it completely heal up before running the 45 minute 5K. There just wasn’t time to train at a slow enough pace because of that chest cold I had at the beginning of September.

And now things are really tight and are going to have to slo-o-o-o-wly loosen out (with Marlene’s help, of course.) I can’t easily bend my right leg, so I’m walking like I have a peg leg. Going up and down stairs not only requires a hand rail but I also have to start with the left leg and drag the right along behind. To top it all off, I can’t even walk more than a half a block without feeling uncomfortable and tired.

I know I’m no longer going to be the poster child of 5K running by admitting this setback. After all, this is not exactly the way that an “athlete” would choose to be seen so soon after one of her athletic triumphs. I wish I had finished the race so confidently that I could have kept running without a care in the world–carrying on conversations with passersby and pausing to stop only to sign autographs–but the honest truth is that I’m 42 and I haven’t been in really good shape for a while and I ran farther than I’ve ever run before and my body was pushed to the limit and I am simply paying the price.

I’m really achy. And annoyed. And completely grounded from running. Boo!

But I am grateful that it’s temporary, because it actually feels like a punishment to be forced to lie around. Because I really enjoyed being mobile and energetic, and I don’t ever want to take that gift for granted.

Can you believe that despite how hard it was to get started, I am missing running?

Miracles happen every day, and this is just more evidence.