In response to everyone’s clamoring, I have obtained my friend Anna’s permission to share her delicious pasta recipe, which I acquired by taking one of her classes.

I made this pasta tonight for my folks, and it was very well received, as it has been every time I have made it. My dad said, and I quote, “I have a headache because I ate so much. It’s your fault.” Mom, graceful as always, said it was delicious and that she wanted the recipe. So, here it is.

I confess that I am a fan of Anna Dvorak (that, I know, is fairly obvious at this point.) I am a fan of her cooking, a fan of her blog, a fan of her recipes, a fan of her skincare products, a fan of her shopping tips, a fan of her classes, a fan of her retreats, and a fan of her friendship.

I have my reasons, and I think once you try this recipe, you will want to get to know Anna as well.

In addition to the classes she offers through the Wedge and other local co-ops, Anna is generously collaborating with me to offer some specific classes just for my friends at Le Donne (my women’s networking group).  Here are a few options coming up really soon to sit in on a class or attend a retreat with me. (You know it would be fun, right? Contact me at rgreenhouse@mac.com or comment here if you want more details about any of these or about Anna’s skincare products.)

Couples Date Night…Vegetarian Indian Cooking Class
Friday, April 9th

Fabulous Spring Salads
Five Healthy, Delicious Lunches You Can Make Ahead
Tuesday, May 18th

Le Donne Retreat
April 30th – May 2nd in Siren, WI

Here are just a few of the reasons I love Anna’s classes:

  • You get to eat and drink the whole time you are learning.
  • The food is divine. Even if you think that you don’t care for vegetarian cooking, you will be amazed and impressed.
  • She tells you about the best places to buy ingredients (for quality and affordability).
  • Her recipes are easy to make and feature accessible ingredients.
  • She shares information about the nutritional value of all of the ingredients while she’s cooking.
  • She’s relaxed and approachable (unlike Martha Stewart).
  • You get to eat and drink the whole time you are learning. (Yes, I repeated that on purpose.)

For example, here are a few “extras” she gave us along with this pasta recipe:

  • The best wheat pasta to try: Bionature. I thought my family, especially my kids, wouldn’t stomach whole wheat pasta. But everybody loved Bionature. I made this recipe tonight with regular pasta because I didn’t have access to any wheat pasta. Verdict: Not nearly as good. Seriously. Everyone agreed.
  • Yummy, affordable, and local gorgonzola she recommends: Black River (available at the Wedge and Kowalskis)
  • How to pick and store the best mushrooms: Look at stems, buy in bulk, store in a paper bag, and choose mushrooms of a uniform size so they cook evenly.
  • Extra virgin olive oil is a must.
  • Fresh parsley is super, super, super good for you.

If any of you have ever attended one of Anna’s classes and would like to comment here, that would be great (just so that people know that I am not ridiculously biased)…also, let me know how the recipe works out for you!

Buon appetito mi amici…

Pasta with Roasted Mushrooms and Gorgonzola

3/4 pound fusilli whole wheat or brown rice pasta
1 1/4 pounds cremini mushrooms, trimmed, quartered if large
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 large red onions, sliced into thin wedges
4 ounces Gorgonzola cheese, cut into small cubes (1/4″) or chèvre (goat cheese)
3 tablespoons pine nuts
2 tablespoons fresh parsley

1. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. In a pot of boiling salted water, cook the pasta until al dente. Drain, reserving 1/4 cup of the pasta water. Transfer the pasta to a large bowl, cover with foil and keep warm.
2. Meanwhile, on a rimmed baking sheet, toss the mushrooms with 1/4 cup of the oil. Season with salt and pepper and spread the mushrooms in a single layer.
3. On another rimmed baking sheet, toss the onions with the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil; season with salt and pepper and spread in a single layer. Roast the mushrooms on the top rack and the onions in the middle of the oven for about 15 minutes, stirring after 10, or until the mushrooms are just tender.
4. Sprinkle the cheese over the mushrooms and the pine nuts over the onions and roast for 2 to 3 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the pine nuts are toasted. Add the mushrooms and onions to the pasta along with the parsley and toss well. If the pasta is dry, add a little of the reserved cooking water. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

© Anna Dvorak


To learn more, contact Anna at annadvorak@yahoo.com
or call 612-735-0417


I was struck by how decadent simplicity could feel. Whether we were eating delicious and healing food, communing with the elements on a hike, relaxing with a  foot spa, or being led through a guided meditation, Anna’s grounded and nurturing demeanor allowed us to just focus on the moment.  Lovely, absolutely lovely!
~ Kristine, Mpls.