I am usually pretty stoic about the boys being gone, even for extended periods of time. I just put my head down and try to get as much work done as possible, and I fit in a lot of socializing and errands that are typically difficult to accomplish when they are here. Jeremy and I schedule dates without having to line up a babysitter first and we find ourselves doing very little laundry, picking up and grocery shopping. (Now, I wonder why that would be?)

And the time usually flies. Soon enough we are back to bickering, negotiating, sighing and complaining, and generally tripping all over each other’s stuff. School starts on Monday so we’re facing a big adjustment (just like many of you) in the next couple of weeks.

But this time, I am beginning to really miss them. So it’s good that there’s only one more full day before their return.

I know that the boys are having a great time with their grandparents. They’re blissfully living schedule-free days: exploring rocks and trees and caves, sleeping to the lake’s soundtrack, soaking in the sunshine and wind, and jumping off the boat into deep water for a quick swim. Just look at them with their healthy, carefree summer faces! So I have no regrets about letting them go.

Dylan

Jesse

But I’m already picturing myself squeezing Dylan very tight when he walks through the door. Cuddling on the couch and reading a book together. I’m thinking about all of the stories Jesse will want to share and how much fun we will have organizing his school supplies together.

Listening to the following Sara Groves song nearly always makes me cry…and today is no exception. If you want to hear her singing the song, you can follow the link at the bottom of the lyrics.

Though if you don’t want to feel a sweet wistful aching come over you, you might want to avoid her music altogether. Consider yourself warned.

I especially love the way that this song conveys so well not only my love for Jesse and Dylan, but God’s limitless love for them as well. I pray that they will carry this awareness with them wherever they go.

Safe travels, boys.


You will lose your baby teeth.
At times, you’ll lose your faith in me.
You will lose a lot of things,
But you cannot lose my love.

You may lose your appetite,
Your guiding sense of wrong and right.
You may lose your will to fight,
But you cannot lose my love.

You will lose your confidence.
In times of trial, your common sense.
You may lose your innocence,
But you cannot lose my love.

Many things can be misplaced;
Your very memories be erased.
No matter what the time or space,
You cannot lose my love.
You cannot lose,
You cannot lose,
You cannot lose my love.

– Sara Groves

To hear the song, click here.