pink stitching

Gina Sekelsky's pink stitching

Oh I had such a peaceful and tender time learning to sew by hand this evening. And it was with five of my loveliest friends. It was all made possible by this generous person, Gina Sekelsky of Dreamland AND lettergirl. Gina, who was willing to take a chance on me and my Le Donne friends sight unseen, is no longer a mere kindred spirit in the blogosphere. She is now a bonafide friend.

A Le Donne stitching bee is a very, very fine place to be. Especially on this rainy night.

Gina is right: It is indeed a meditative, soul-nurturing process to put a simple stitch into a soft fabric.

We were all made comfortable very quickly, making bandanas using the reverse applique technique our teacher demonstrated for us. And now we are eager to get together again soon for more stitching companionship.

The bounty we can aspire to?

Perhaps something like this skull cap…

Or an embellished scarf…

Or something truly magical…like this jacket adorned with Angelou words.

Someday.

For now, just to enjoy the process of completing a simple, satisfying project offers more than enough pleasure for one day.

To bed, to bed for this girl who is now lucky enough to say that she can, after all, sew.

Methinks it is a token of healthy and gentle characteristics, when women of high thoughts and accomplishments love to sew; especially as they are never more at home with their own hearts than while so occupied.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne, The Marble Faun, 1859

my stitching project

My stitching project


Postscript for Thursday: This morning, instead of opening up my laptop, I reached for my stitching project instead. There is so much to be enjoyed in this world of ours, isn’t there?