Thread

Photo courtesy my friend Laura Kimball

Ever since we had our very first Le Donne stitching bee with Gina Sekelsky, I have been a little obsessed with having a hand stitching project going at all times.

Sheila and I went to Sewtropolis to stock up on colorful jerseys and bought little sewn bags to carry our projects around in. We made several trips for button and craft/heavy duty thread of various colors. I have already made a kerchief and a short scarf that buttons around my neck.

It’s especially good for a laptop lover like myself to put my hands to work on something non-electronic. This simple, easy and relaxing project for the evenings, while watching tv or listening to music, is a very good step toward more balance in my life.

And now, I have discovered the love of embellishing things. On Saturday night, while the Sweet Colleens (and therefore Jeremy) were at Kierans, I was at home watching a movie and stitching on the couch.

The result of a fleece remnant from the fabric store (less than $3), a bunch of leftover felt, and a needle and thread was this cuddly scarf for Dylan:

scarf

scarf left

scarf right

Dylan with his new scarf

So yesterday, I went to buy more thread, and ended up with a huge pile of new felt colors. A scarf for Jesse with maple leaves on it (for his beloved Canada) is next.

And this book is now waiting for me to pick up at the library: Alabama Stitch Book: Projects and Stories Celebrating Hand-Sewing, Quilting and Embroidery for Contemporary Sustainable Style.

Alabama Stitch Book

Just more fuel for my fire; it seems fairly obvious that I will be bringing a stitching project to the Le Donne Day Retreat on Sunday, doesn’t it?

I am counting the days.