tornado

Tornado warning.

Those of you who live in the midwest will recognize these words.

I always get watch and warning mixed up though. In either case, even the mention of the word tornado means that it’s time to pay attention.

A tornado watch is just to let folks know to be on the lookout for a possible tornado in the area whereas a tornado warning is a notification that a tornado has been seen or picked up by radar.

I thought you would get a kick out of the details of what I dreamed the night before last.

The boys and I (Jeremy is included in the boys) were on a school bus being evacuated together because there were at least three tornadoes swirling in the sky over the city, in plain view.

At one point I decided to get off the bus to take care of something and of course then I was separated from the family, without the option of getting back to them. I found myself hunkering down in a small glass-walled MPR studio with people I didn’t know. We were watching the weather forecast and I was strapping myself to structural supports and remaining relatively calm given the circumstances.

After all, what were the chances the tornado would hit this particular spot?

The feeling of being separated from the boys however, was not a good one.

We did eventually reunite safe and sound. And the storms moved out of the area.

But for a few hours (who knows how long these very long-seeming dreams actually are…), I was trying to keep myself alive, get the family together in the same place AND keep the boutique moving forward (because of course, these storms were happening on set up day for the big holiday boutique.)

Come on…how transparent can my dreams be?

Tornadoes in dreams

A tornado indicates that you are likely to feel that an important relationship or challenge is on the horizon. The dream indicates that you are soon to be trusted in a situation and you must understand the consequences.

Being overwhelmed by work or circumstances. You are stressed out. If you are overtaken: Things are out of control in your life. If you escape from or avoid it:You are stressed but can handle the situation.


In spite of how not restful that night’s sleep was, I started to laugh as soon as I woke up.

Hilarious. No need for a therapy appointment to sort this one out.

Glass walls: Feeling a little vulnerable about attempting such an audacious and public event as this Holiday Boutique, perhaps?

Separated from the family: I have been a little distracted and focused elsewhere while I get all of this together. I know that I need to get back to more home and family balance after this weekend.

Relatively calm, storms subside: I have been doing surprisingly well with my stress level given the responsibility I feel for the success of this weekend. I know that I really am going to be ok if it doesn’t all go as planned. I usually sweat the details in advance and have a blast at the actual event. So I’m ready.

Now that set up day is actually here and most of the details are behind me, I am extremely excited.

After all, this is not tornado season.

The first accumulating snow of the season is expected tomorrow.

That should provide the perfect setting for our holiday shoppers for a cause.

And Jeremy and I always greet the first “real” snow with a special kiss. That should eliminate all thoughts of tornadoes.