Resolved

Click this image to view it at a larger size.

My sweet Jeremy is not impressed.

He has been conducting an informal poll over the past couple of weeks, and it appears that hardly anyone makes resolutions anymore.

Jeremy is a big fan of resolution-making on New Year’s Day.  In fact, he has lost no time implementing one for 2011, showing me his black coffee at breakfast this morning.

And I am absolutely no comfort to him, because I am not at all inclined to make resolutions this time of year. Especially if it involves giving up milk and sugar in my coffee.

After all, this is more of a “hold steady, hang in there,” hybernation season for me.

My equivalent of New Year’s Day generally takes place in May, around Mother’s Day. That is when I naturally embrace new possibilities, open up and get ready to grow, right alongside my garden.

For example, last June is when I decided that I would run a 5K. And as soon as I had completed it in September, I immediately resolved to run another in late spring 2011. And so I shall.

Regardless of the date on the calendar, I have resolved to live with passion and purpose.

As I have described in previous blog posts, I have set clear intentions for living healthier, experiencing more joy, sharing more love, and being more present in my life, every single day from here on out.

So I guess you could say that I’ve pre-empted the need to make resolutions on the first day of the new year.

Perhaps I can start a movement to have New Year’s moved to mid-May. What do you think?

Whether on January 1st or at any other time during the year, I’m wondering about all of you. How do you implement change and achieve goals in your life?

Happy New Year, friends. xo

Rachel

 

 

 

 

Taking your child to school and kissing your wife goodbye. Eating lunch with a friend. Trying to do a decent day’s work. Hearing the rain patter against the window. There is no event so commonplace but that God is present within it, always hiddenly, always leaving you room to recognize him or not to recognize him, but all the more fascinatingly because of that, all the more compellingly and hauntingly…. If I were called upon to state in a few words the essence of everything I was trying to say both as a novelist and as a preacher, it would be something like this: Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery that it is. In the boredom and pain of it no less than in the excitement and gladness; touch, taste, smell your way to the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last analysis all moments are key moments and life itself is grace.

Frederick Buechner, Now and Then, 1983