This quote was me, in a Talbots suit jacket of a similar pink hue, on Thursday night.

Doing something I couldn’t do, in order to learn how to do it.

What was “it,” you ask?

Well…

“It” was playing a key role in launching a new community for Women Small Business Owners in the Twin Cities (the Magic Wand Collective which–while still very much in its earliest stages of existing–has all the makings of being every bit as magical as it sounds.)

“It” was offering a presentation on marketing trends with microphone and powerpoint in front of nearly 60 women at the Woman’s Club.

“It” was truly challenging. And “it” was absolutely exhilarating.

So much so, that I could barely sleep when I got home, in spite of being absolutely exhausted.

OK so of course I don’t particularly¬†love having to deal with the anxiety that accompanies doing something so out of my comfort zone. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Because taking such a risk made me feel very much alive.

And this feeling is not to be underrated. Especially because so many of us go through our lives on autopilot.

Friends: Don’t live on autopilot.

Do something risky asap. Preferably today.

Even if it’s just to prove to yourself that you still can.

I’ll be here, applauding, when you come back to tell me all about it.

Rachelxo