hunger


One of the most heartbreaking pieces of video footage I have ever seen featured a mother who could not feed her child.

The anguish of the situation in which she was trapped consumed every cell of her body. Her eyes conveyed deep helplessness and agony.

There was no food to be found anywhere in that war-torn country. The land was completely barren.  No seeds, no silos, no stores. 

This poor woman was so malnourished herself that she couldnt produce milk to breastfeed her baby.

The sudden awareness of that mother’s life, defeated by poverty and violence, stabbed my heart with pain. Tears poured out.

And I have not forgotten her.

On the other side of the world, this is what I was able to feed my son for supper tonight.

multi-colored supper


And when I placed this colorful plate on the table in front of Dylan, that suffering mother’s face reappeared in my mind. She is my sister, somewhere out there in our shared world. 

I don’t always–okay not very often–feel like a really great mother, but tonight I felt the satisfaction of mothering well.

Because I could provide Dylan’s 6-year old growing body with nutrient-rich foods: roasted red, yellow and green peppers, parmesan cheese, pine nuts, and sliced strawberries. Just as wonderful: it was delicious. He ate the entire plate of food with no cajoling or begging or threatening from me. 

And I thought about how blessed I am to be able to do this.

And once again I have to acknowledge that I don’t understand why I have all of this when so many mothers have nothing to give their children.

So I took a moment to pray for all of the women, all over the world, who cannot feed their babies.

For their agony and for their painful desire to mother, if only to simply provide for the basic physical needs of their children.

And so I pray. And commit to doing more.


Growing Hope: Zambia
EASTER OFFERING: Growing Hope in Zambia

This Easter, our church celebrates a transformative first year in our two partnerships in Zambia. Through this year’s Easter offering, you can help the story continue of growing hope in Zambia. 

In rural Moyo, where we partner with World Vision, the foundation for the area’s first high school has been laid, forming the building blocks for a changed future in a community where 90% live in poverty. The CPC Easter Offering will enable construction on the school to continue as soon as the rainy season ends. 

Our partner in urban George, Jubilee Centre, trains pastors and churches to meet the physical and spiritual needs of their neighbors. One of the greatest challenges facing George is HIV; most people are either infected or affected by the disease and the stigma is great. Our Easter offering will support the expansion of vital HIV care ministries, which, for many, are the difference between life and death.