Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am hoping to do some planting today, playing hooky for an hour or two from my work in order to catch this great weather and save my little plants. And my mind–as is always the case this time of year–has turned to my garden and the joy it brings to my life.

Tending my little bit of land on this great vast earth has helped me to mend my spirit. Through my garden I am constantly participating in the renewal of myself and of the earth we share together.

renewal garden

Tending the Earth book

Tending the Earth, Mending the Spirit

Everything grows and changes in a garden. Try to hold onto a beautiful blossom and it changes, almost as you’re watching it. Create the perfect design and it achieves its own perfection that wasn’t what you had in mind, or the seeds you planted never come up, or they come up in different places than where you sowed them.

Anything that lives where it would seem that nothing could live, enduring extremes of hot and cold, sunlight and storm, parching aridity and sudden cloudbursts, any such creature; beast, bird, or flower, testifies to the grandeur and heroism inherent in all forms of life. Including the human. Even in us.