Tags

, , ,

Chick with pink bow

Chick with a pink bow

I thought my life would seem more interesting with a musical score and a laugh track. – Bill Watterson, Creator of Calvin & Hobbes

Sometimes I have to share with you just how ridiculous I am. There are so many occasions in my life when I have to stop in my tracks and laugh at myself. I get into some crazy situations, mostly because I say what I am thinking and don’t take the time to employ a filter.

For example:

On a recent visit to Dylan’s classroom, I had the opportunity to meet the brand new chicks that had hatched from eggs the night before.

The 1st and 2nd graders were obviously excited and the chicks were providing the entire focus for the classroom that morning. The teacher, Miss Jean, mentioned that the students’ primary job for the day was going to be coming up with names for the new chicks.

So, here’s when I said it:

“You should name one Rachel.”

You know how I am about my name, right? Reprise this post. I grew up in a town and went to a school where there were no other Rachels. And to this day, I can’t seem to get used to sharing my name with other Rachels and Rachaels. I know, I know–it’s my issue.

Anyway, I really don’t know why I suggested they name a chick after me. There was no specific motive. Perhaps I was just trying to see what kind of a reaction I would get? Or maybe–like Bill Watterson–I’m trying to create my own sound and laugh tracks as I skip through life. Or maybe I just speak more than necessary.

In any case, the children thought my suggestion was a completely ridiculous one and I left for the day. And I thought that was going to be the end of it.

However, when Dylan got home from school he announced that there had been some kind of last minute swing vote and that one of the chicks had been named Rachel after all.

Huh?

So the chicks’ chosen names were Cinnamon, Chocolate, Fuzzball, some other names of a similarly light and fluffy nature…and Rachel. Do any of you remember “One of these things is not like the other” from Sesame Street?

So the next time I went to visit the classroom the kids were all abuzz about my new namesake. Though one boy named Nick pointed out with some schadenfreude that he did NOT vote for my name. He might as well have said, “Take that, crazy lady who thinks she should have a chick named after her!”

Spelling test

So then I made a joke that since the chick’s name was Rachel she was probably a great speller–I do the spelling tests for the class every other Friday–and that she must have a fabulous sense of style.

And so I added more intrigue to the storyline. I fanned the flames. Rachel the Chick was now observed with even more interest.

Fast forward a few weeks, and the chicks have flown the coop (aka the classroom) and are now living on a farm. So I thought the whole episode was behind us.

But then I got this email from my friend Joan–who also happens to have a daughter in Dylan’s classroom. Joan, by the way, knows about my issue with sharing my name and since she knows only one Rachel (me) she says that I can be her one and only Rachel. This is a wonderful thing for me. And I trust that she will not tell me if she finds another Rachel. ( :

And here is what she shared:

Hey My Rachel

I thought you might enjoy an entry from Ruby Lou’s April Journal

“The biggest change in our chicks is most of the chicks chirp more especially Rachel at table 2 when she is by herself she is super loud.”

So not only did you have the honor of having a chick named after you. It would appear she is also extra chirpy and loud!

Have a good week.

Joan

And my reply to this report that Rachel the Chick was extra chirpy and loud?

Of course she is!

But I also think that she is an especially good speller and certainly very stylish too.

LOL

Rachelxo