Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

sunshine playlistToday is cloudy and overcast and the recent snowfall has turned from a fluffy white to an icy gray. The glow of the new year has past and we have arrived at the slogging stage of winter. As the French so aptly say, “Il faut durer.”

As you will know if you read this blog consistently or know me at all, I am a sun-lover. As Jeremy once wrote: “She opens up like a bud in spring.”

So I’ve been thinking for some time about all of the songs that offer a little sunshine when the weather doesn’t. And about sharing them with you through a Spotify playlist.

I remember as a child feeling the sense of being deeply understood when I first heard the song Here Comes the Sun by The Beatles:

Little darlin’ it’s been a long dark lonely winter. Little darlin’ it seems like years since it’s been here. Here comes the sun…

Unfortunately Spotify doesn’t yet have the best song on my playlist–Sunshine by the Sweet Colleens–the one written especially for me. You can read the lyrics here and buy the track on itunes and Amazon.

SunshineJeremy has weathered a lot of winters and cloudy days with me over the years. So he knows how to write a song that goes right to my heart. The great news is that I am no longer flattened by dark days and long cold seasons. Nonetheless, I will always love me some big bright yellow orb in the sky.

The Richie Havens tune is especially for my daddy-o and very first valentine, Tony Hedrick. I think about my dad a lot anyway, but Valentine’s Day always brings special memories to mind, memories of some of his absolute most shining moments while parenting me through the teen years.

So here’s my gift du jour. I hope that you enjoy my sunny song choices.

Rachel’s Sunshine Playlist

with love, Rachel