Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

sweetest thing

Many thanks to my sister Amy who shared this beautiful quote with me. How I deeply recognize that longing feeling…don’t you?

It’s the wistfulness that covers me at the turn of the seasons, the sweet ache of seeing my sons grow from toddlers to teens, the frequent thoughts of “what if I hadn’t met that person, so dear as he or she is?”

It’s a little boy laughing in the living room, inspiring a celebratory song, just weeks after a life-saving surgery. It’s a Saturday morning, praying for Persis and her search for the very best blueberry pancakes, while watching carefree children throw a football through the fall air.

Sweetness and sadness, elation and ache, co-mingled. Subtle yet striking shadows that point to the presence of God in the universe and in my life. The place where all the beauty came from.

“It was when I was happiest that I longed most. The sweetest thing in all my life has been the longing to find the place where all the beauty came from.” CS Lewis